Home Page

St Anne's Catholic Academy

Love God, Love Learning, Love One Another



Education Standards Committee

Welcome to our Education Standards Committee (ESC) section.


Please find below details of how our ESC is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each member.


We have also provided a Register of  Interests and an Annual Statement of Issues for your information.

On 1st March 2015, Saint Anne’s became an academy; joining with Our Lady of the Angels Infant School, Saint Joseph’s Junior School, Saint Francis Primary School, Saint Benedict’s Primary School and Saint Thomas More Secondary School. Collectively we are known as The Holy Spirit Catholic Multi Academy. This means that we work together and with the Catholic Diocese of Birmingham rather than a Local Authority.


Instead of a Governing Body, we have a Local Academy Committee which then reports to the Board of Directors. The Local Academy Committee is fully committed to ensuring that the school provides an environment that will enable the children’s spiritual, academic, social and physical needs to be met and maximised within the needs of not only the National Curriculum but the desires of parents and teachers alike. We support the mission and vision of the school and aim to develop the school in a way, which ensure high quality education for now and the future.


In March 2019 the LAC developed into the Education Standards Committee (ESC). The ESC was formed after discussions with the Diocese and The Board of Directors for the Holy Spirit MAC. They needed a committee that truly knew the needs of the individuals schools and was based on evidence and impact. The ESC has a clear and focused direction and runs exactly the same as the LAC but is more evidence based collected by the ESC not just reported to. This in turn is then reported back to The Board of Directors.


Our role is to not only to monitor the compliance with statutory requirements of the Secretary of State for Education but that of the Diocese of Birmingham and most importantly the wants and needs of the children in the care and trust of St. Anne's.

Foundation Representatives


Kevin Dunnion - Chair

Fr. Simon Hall - Vice Chair

Jim Crawford

John Dyer

Helen Brown

Staf Ashton

Ollie Bath


Parent Representative


Clare Brayne


Teacher Representative


Rachel Luckman


Senior Leadership


Sarah Hubbard


Clerk to the Committee


Debbie Elkins



Committees and Responsibilities



Resources.                     Performance & Standards.

        TBC                                         TBC



Performance, Pay and Appraisal.

     Kevin Dunnion


Review Officer -  TBC      


Staff Dismissal.

All eligible members would form the pool from which to draw three members


Staff Dismissal Appeal.

All eligible members would form the pool from which to draw three members excluding those members who served on the first committee.


Pupil Discipline Committee.

All eligible members would form the pool from which to draw three members.


Named Members:

Safeguarding/Child Protection Stef Ashton

SEN / CLA                             Kevin Dunnion

Link Governor         

H&S and Premises                 Jim Crawford and John Dyer                          

Pupil Premium                       Jeff Smith


Member Responsibilities in line with School Priorities.

Priority 1        

Priority 2        

Priority 3        

Priority 4         These would be reviewed in the Autumn term


Terms of reference were approved.




The Holy Spirit Multi Academy
We've had 3 0 6 5 8 Visitors